Environmental policy

Nowadays, mitigation of a negative environmental impact of business activity on the environment is one of the higher-priority national tasks. Sustainable, harmonious development of the country, people’s health, conservation of rare flora and fauna species depend on the effectiveness of its performance.

Vladimir v. Putin, President of the Russian Federation

«Surgutneftegas» PJSC is one of the leaders in Russian oil and gas industry. The name of the Company is always associated with stability, reliability, high technological and economic efficiency, compliance with modern industrial and environmental safety requirements, and high social responsibility.

The Company strictly follows environmental legislation of the Russian Federation, takes into account principles of international conventions and treaties. In 2017, the Company’s investments in environmental activities exceeded RUB 21 billion.

According to the corporate Environmental policy that meets the top-of-the-line specifications and practices, «Surgutneftegas» PJSC rationally uses natural resources, applies knowledge-intensive modern innovations and low-waste technologies, decreases energy consumption and cuts costs. The Company exercises constant control over production processes, provides environmental training for its employees. The Company’s environmental standards cover the activity of contractors, subcontractors and suppliers of the Company in the form of environmental commitments.

«Surgutneftegas» PJSC advocates developing long-term collaboration with the residents of the regions of the Company’s presence, including the small-numbered indigenous peoples of the North, based on the principles of respect, trust and cooperation. In a mandatory manner the Company coordinates with the indigenous people the placement of production facilities on the territories of traditional nature use and habitats of the small-numbered indigenous peoples of the North, meets the most stringent requirements to conducting exploration, construction of field facilities, located in specially protected natural reservations.

For four years running, «Surgutneftegas» PJSC has been among the top three of the Rating of environmentally responsible Russian oil companies compiled annually by «CREON» group with the participation of the World Wildlife Fund of Russia and the National Rating Agency.

Basic principles of the environmental policy of «Surgutneftegas» PJSC

  • Systematic mitigation of a negative environmental impact of technological processes and environmental risks through implementation of the best available technologies as well as scientific and technical achievements
  • Giving priority to prevention of a negative environmental impact as compared with mitigation of the consequences of such an impact
  • Maintaining industrial and environmental safety in line with current international standards and requirements
  • Rational use of natural resources based on implementation of innovative environmentally efficient and resource saving technologies
  • Systematic control over compliance with industrial and environmental safety requirements
  • Preservation of the primordial environment, traditional way of life, housekeeping and industries of the indigenous people of the North
  • Environmental monitoring in the areas of the Company’s operations
  • Improvement of the environmental activity and environmental management system in the Company’s divisions
  • Improvement of the personnel’s environmental skills
  • Cooperation with parties concerned, public organizations and the media
  • Transparency of the Company’s socially significant environmental efforts

The Company’s responsibilities

To implement the basic principles of the Environmental policy, the Company undertakes the following responsibilities:

1. Adhere to the requirements of the legislation of the Russian Federation in the fields of environmental protection and sanitary and epidemiological welfare of the population.

2. Assess environmental risks while developing project documentation for the construction of facilities in ecologically sensitive areas.

3. Conduct a comprehensive environmental impact assessment (EIA) of projects from construction to decommissioning.

4. Conduct a strategic environmental assessment while implementing large-scale infrastructure projects of the Company.

5. Ensure efficient environmental activity and improve its control system.

6. Improve industrial and environmental safety at the Company’s facilities, assume required measures to ensure integrity of oilfield equipment, including pipelines.

7. Enhance power efficiency of production processes at all production stages.

8. Reduce motor fuel consumption and improve the environmental performance of the Company’s vehicles.

9. Ensure rational environmental management, mitigation of a negative environmental impact, compensation of possible damage to the environment.

10. Implement «green office» principles in each administrative building of the Company’s headquarters and business units.

11. Implement all possible measures on preservation of biodiversity, animal migration paths in the areas of operations, timely reclamation of disturbed lands as well as reduction of natural landscapes fragmentation by laying linear facilities in the existing utility line areas and placing site facilities on previously disturbed lands within existing industrial sites.

12. Avoid carrying out works in the territory of World Natural Heritage sites and wetlands having special significance and in specially protected natural reservations when designing site structures and oilfield infrastructure facilities. In the absence of such a possibility — observe special mode of business activity.

13. Take account of interests and rights of the small-numbered indigenous peoples to lead the traditional way of life and preservation of primordial living environment.

14. Observe current rules and standards of the Company’s employees’ conduct in specially protected natural reservations and waste management requirements, demand observance of these rules and standards by contractors.

15. Organize regular professional and environmental training of the Company’s employees.

16. Ensure wide accessibility of environmental information on the Company’s business activities, transparency of environmental management and decisions made in this area.

17. Apply environmental standards of the Company to the activity of contractors.

This Environmental policy is among the Company’s priorities and is brought to notice of each employee of the Company.

The Environmental policy, which expresses the position of «Surgutneftegas» PJSC regarding the environment and adherence to the principles of sustainable development in modern conditions, is the basis of the Company’s development strategy and planning of its activity in the field of environmental protection for short and mid-term periods.

The Environmental policy is carried out by means of fixing in the contracts the responsibilities of contractors, subcontractors and suppliers of the Company in the field of environmental protection in the areas of its operations.

The Environmental policy is subject to revision, adjustment and improvement in case the Company changes its development priorities and operational conditions.

Экологическая политика

Сегодня снижение негативного влияния хозяйственной деятельности на природу является одной из приоритетных общенациональных задач. И от эффективности ее решения прямо зависят устойчивое, гармоничное развитие страны, здоровье людей, сохранность редких видов флоры и фауны.

В. В. Путин, Президент Российской Федерации

ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз» входит в число лидеров нефтегазовой отрасли страны. Имя Компании всегда ассоциируется со стабильностью, надежностью, высокой технико-экономической эффективностью, соблюдением современных требований экологической и промышленной безопасности, большой социальной ответственностью.

Компания неуклонно соблюдает требования природоохранного законодательства РФ, учитывает положения международных конвенций и соглашений. Инвестиции Сургутнефтегаза в природоохранную деятельность в 2017 году превысили 21 млрд рублей.

Согласно корпоративной Экологической политике, соответствующей наилучшим стандартам и практикам, ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз» рационально использует природные ресурсы, применяет современные наукоемкие инновационные разработки и малоотходные технологии, уменьшается энергопотребление и сокращает издержки. Осуществляется постоянный контроль над производственными процессами, проводится работа по экологическому просвещению персонала. Экологические стандарты Сургутнефтегаза распространяются на деятельность подрядных, субподрядных организаций и поставщиков Компании в виде обязательств по охране окружающей среды.

ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз» выступает за развитие долгосрочного взаимодействия с жителями регионов деятельности Компании, включая коренные малочисленные народы Севера (КМНС), построенного на принципах уважения, доверия и сотрудничества. Компания в обязательном порядке согласовывает с коренными жителями размещение производственных объектов на территориях традиционного природопользования, в местах компактного проживания КМНС, выполняет самые строгие требования к проведению геолого-разведочных работ, и обустройству месторождений на особо охраняемых природных территориях (ООПТ).

ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз» четыре года подряд входит в тройку рейтинга самых экологически ответственных нефтяных компаний России, составляемого ежегодно группой «КРЕОН» с участием Всемирного фонда дикой природы (WWF) и Национального рейтингового агентства.

Основные принципы

Экологической политики ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз»

  • Планомерное уменьшение негативного воздействия технологических процессов на окружающую среду, снижение экологических рисков за счет внедрения наилучших существующих технологий, достижений науки и техники
  • Приоритетность мер по предупреждению негативных последствий над мерами по их ликвидации
  • Поддержание уровня промышленной и экологической безопасности, соответствующего современным международным нормам и требованиям
  • Рациональное использование природных ресурсов, основанное на внедрении инновационных природо- и ресурсосберегающих технологий
  • Систематичный контроль за соблюдением требований промышленной и экологической безопасности
  • Сохранение исконной среды обитания, традиционного образа жизни и хозяйствования коренных жителей Севера
  • Экологический мониторинг природной среды в районах деятельности Компании
  • Совершенствование природоохранной деятельности и системы экологического менеджмента на предприятиях Компании
  • Повышение уровня компетентности персонала в вопросах охраны окружающей среды
  • Взаимодействие с заинтересованными сторонами, общественными организациями и СМИ
  • Открытость общественно значимой информации об экологической деятельности Компании

Обязательства Компании

Для реализации основных принципов Экологической политики Компания принимает на себя следующие обязательства:

1. Соблюдать требования законодательства Российской Федерации в области охраны окружающей среды, санитарно-эпидемиологического благополучия населения.

2. Проводить оценку экологических рисков при разработке проектной документации на строительство объектов на экологически чувствительных территориях.

3. Проводить комплексную оценку воздействия на окружающую среду (ОВОС) проектов от стадии строительства до стадии ликвидации.

4. Проводить стратегическую экологическую оценку при реализации крупных инфраструктурных проектов Компании.

5. Обеспечивать эффективную природоохранную деятельность и совершенствовать систему управления этой деятельностью.

6. Повышать уровень промышленной и экологической безопасности на производственных объектах Компании, принимать необходимые меры по обеспечению целостности нефтепромыслового оборудования, в том числе трубопроводов.

7. Повышать энергоэффективность процессов производства на всех его стадиях.

8. Сокращать потребление автомобильного топлива и повышать экологические показатели транспортных средств Компании.

9. Обеспечивать рациональное природопользование, уменьшение негативного воздействия на окружающую среду, компенсацию возможного ущерба окружающей среде.

10. Внедрять принципы «зеленого офиса» во всех административных зданиях аппарата управления и структурных подразделений Компании.

11. Принимать все возможные меры по сохранению биоразнообразия, путей миграции животных на территории деятельности, по своевременной рекультивации нарушенных земель, снижению фрагментации природных ландшафтов за счет прокладки линейных объектов в существующих коридорах коммуникаций и размещения площадных объектов на ранее нарушенных земельных участках в пределах существующих промышленных площадок.

12. При проектировании объектов обустройства и промысловой инфраструктуры избегать проведения работ на территории объектов всемирного природного наследия, водно-болотных угодий, имеющих особое значение, а также особо охраняемых природных территориях; при невозможности избежать этого — соблюдать специальный (особый) режим осуществления хозяйственной деятельности.

13. Учитывать интересы коренных малочисленных народов, их права на ведение традиционного образа жизни и сохранение исконной среды обитания.

14. Соблюдать установленные нормы и правила поведения работников Компании на особо охраняемых природных территориях, правила обращения с отходами, требовать соблюдения данных норм и правил от подрядных организаций.

15. Организовывать регулярное профессиональное и экологическое образование работников Компании.

16. Обеспечивать широкую доступность экологической информации о хозяйственной деятельности Компании, прозрачность природоохранной деятельности и принимаемых в этой области решений.

17. Распространять экологические стандарты Компании на деятельность подрядных организаций.

Настоящая Экологическая политика является приоритетной, доводится до сведения каждого работника Компании.

Экологическая политика, выражающая позицию ПАО «Сургутнефтегаз» по отношению к окружающей среде и соблюдению принципов устойчивого развития в современных условиях, является основой для определения стратегии развития Компании, планирования ее деятельности в сфере охраны окружающей среды на краткосрочный и среднесрочный период.

Экологическая политика осуществляется посредством закрепления в договорах с подрядными, субподрядными организациями и поставщиками Компании обязательств в области охраны окружающей среды в регионах ее деятельности.

Экологическая политика подлежит пересмотру, корректировке и совершенствованию при изменении приоритетов развития и условий деятельности Компании.